Services at NRRI

NRRI Service Categories


Research Lab Services
NRRI Service Listing Lead Contact
MATERIALS SERVICES    
Biochar Materials Development Eric Singsaas esingsaa@d.umn.edu | (218) 788-2648
Biochar Testing Brian Barry barry310@d.umn.edu | (218) 788-2720
Analytical Chemistry Brian Barry barry310@d.umn.edu | (218) 788-2720
Material Agglomeration Tim Hagen thagen@d.umn.edu | (218) 788-2773
Material Testing Victor Krause vkrause@d.umn.edu | (218) 788-2769
Surface Modification and Characterization Igor Kolomitsyn ikolomit@d.umn.edu | (218) 788-2794
ECOLOGICAL SERVICES    
Ecological Surveys Alexis Grinde agrinde@d.umn.edu | (218) 788-2747
Habitat Evaluation Michael Joyce joyc0073@d.umn.edu | (218) 788-2656
Water Quality Testing Chris Filstrup filstrup@d.umn.edu | (218) 788-2764
Aquatic Ecosystem Biotic and Habitat Assessments Valerie Brady vbrady@d.umn.edu | (218) 788-2753
Fish and Aquatic Invertebrate Sample Collection Valerie Brady vbrady@d.umn.edu | (218) 788-2753
Fish and Invertebrate Identification Valerie Brady vbrady@d.umn.edu | (218) 788-2753
Aquatic Invasive Faunal Sampling Valerie Brady vbrady@d.umn.edu | (218) 788-2753
Study Design Consultation Valerie Brady vbrady@d.umn.edu | (218) 788-2753
Scanning Electron Microscopy Adelle Keppers akeppers@d.umn.edu | (218) 788-2616
Data Processing and Statistical Analyses Katya Kovalenko ekovalen@d.umn.edu | (218) 788 2733
MINERAL SERVICES    
Mineral Characterization George Hudak ghudak@d.umn.edu | (218) 788-2739
Metallurgy Kevin Kangas kwkangas@d.umn.edu | (218) 341-5933
Mineral Processing Kevin Kangas kwkangas@d.umn.edu | (218) 341-5933
MAPPING SERVICES    
Geological Mapping George Hudak ghudak@d.umn.edu | (218) 788-2739
GIS Mapping Will Bartsch wbartsch@d.umn.edu | (218) 788-2669
Entrepreneurial and Commercial Services

Entrepreneurial Support Services

NRRI clients with a focus on natural resource technologies and that need help with commercialization challenges.

As part of our legislative charter to foster economic development, NRRI also offers services specifically to help Northern Minnesota entrepreneurs succeed. Through our Launchpad Program NRRI helps startups and new business initiatives commercialize game-changing technologies to solve global resource challenges.

Commercialization Services Overview

Entrepreneurial Support Tim White twwhite@d.umn.edu | (218) 788-2756
Custom Research Services

Custom Research Services

NRRI offers customized research, testing and piloting services. From bench scale to custom-build pilot testing NRRI delivers research and testing for clients and partners. 

Mineral Processing Kevin Kangas kwkangas@d.umn.edu | (218) 667-4218
Geology George Hudak ghudak@d.umn.edu | (218) 788-2739
Biomass Eric Singsass esingsaa@d.umn.edu | (218) 788-2648